Art Camp in Charlotte, Vermont

www.LillianKennedy.com
Lillian@Rockfire.com

Double click on photos to enlarge.

Art camp Vermont

Art camp Vermont

Alice Trageser, my friend since the 1970s, runs an amazing art camp for children here in Charlotte, Vermont.  I joined her and her Creative Campers last week during her International Art program.  (She also does programs in Nature Art.)

By combining her old barn,  teaching skills, ingenuity, love of nature, and infatuation with the world’s cultures, she has created something so special that I am still trying to get over wanting to attend.

Students  come year after year because the fascinating projects don’t repeat!  What they had accomplished  in one week was awe inspiring – I started to write a list of the cultures that they had worked with and the projects that they had created, but the list got too long.  They had made loom woven purses, Hawaiian quilt patterns, Chinese brush drawings, Native American carrying bags, Indonesian… Vietnamese…etc.  Such all lot of creating!

art camp - showing african mask

Alice Trageser (l) with Lydia Clemmons (r) who visited the camp to show pieces from her extensive African art collection.

I fist met Alice when I was teaching at Burlington College.  I remember the day she came into my studio;  I thought at the time that it was a wonderful job getting to meet and work with such beautiful Souls.

It has been impressive to see how she has been able to support herself through her creativity and teaching (both through the schools and on her own).

How much would you have liked to attend such a camp? Leave comments for Alice by clicking on COMMENTS below.

making an African doll

A camper puts the final touches on an African doll (project from the Ndebele of S. Africa)

Lillian Kennedy plein air garden - acrylic

I was a "visiting artist" at the camp and sat by the back fence to do this 8x10 acrylic so that the students could follow the progress during their breaks. acrylic

2 Responses to “Art Camp in Charlotte, Vermont”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Ahhh! This does look like a wonderful place to be! It immediately brought me back to my childhood when I attended a Girl Scout camp in City Park in New Orleans. We made papier mache’ dolls that looked like native American Indians. Such a special time! I kept mine until it literally fell apart…which was years and years… I believe that people’s lives are so enriched by experiences like the ones that Alice has created. Very Cool!

  2. Tisha Wood Says:

    Lovely concept, enjoyed hearing about you
    I heard about this from my friend Lillian kennedy
    I taught art to children a few years back it’s always so encourafging to know about programs that continue to plant the seed and watch these wonderful children blossom with art in thier lives.
    much regards
    Tisha

Leave a comment